The Sharon Temple is located in the village of Sharon, Ontario. The temple was built by the Children of Peace under the leadership of David Willson between 1825 and 1832, and served the congregation until the 1880s. By the early years of the 20th century the building was virtually derelict, and on June 4, 1918 the YPHS purchased Sharon Temple and the three and a half acres of land immediately around it for $1,500, thus saving this architectural gem for posterity. Over the years several other buildings associated with the Children of Peace were moved to the site and restored as well, resulting in this unique complex of buildings hosting thousands of visitors over the years. The YPHS operated the Temple as a museum; and between 1981 and 1991, held a widely acclaimed music festival.
The Temple was designated as a National Historic Site of Canada in 1990. The site comprises eight distinctive heritage buildings and dwellings, and houses 6,000 artifacts.
In 1991 the museum was transferred to the Sharon Temple Museum Society, with a board member of the York Pioneer and Historical Society serving on the Board of the Museum Society.